Picture of the Week 5

Cradle of Napoleon’s Son

Just look at this. Nothing but the best for the son of Napoleon I. I don’t have a whole lot to say about this other then it is spectacular. I guess I’m a bit speechless.  When I read the title I didn’t think it would be like this but I also didn’t expect anything less.

The only legitimate son of Napoleon I (1769-1821) he was known as LAiglon, the Eaglet, and had the title King of Rome (1811-1814) conferred on him at his birth. His mother was Marie Louise (1791-1847), daughter of Holy Roman Emperor Francis II (later Emperor of Austria as Francis I.) who belonged to one of the oldest families of Europe, the Habsburgs. She married Napoleon I on April 2, 1810. The French were delighted when it was announced Marie Louise was with child. On March 20th of 1811 the child was born in Tuileries Palace. The people of France awaited the canon fire announcing the event: twenty one shots if a daughter, one hundred one for a son. At the twenty second shot cheers burst out; Napoleon had a son. The child slept in a magnificent cradle produced by the collaboration of Thomire, Odiot, and Prud’hon.

http://teaattrianon.blogspot.com/2010/05/cradle-of-napoeons-son.html

Published in: on May 27, 2011 at 3:38 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theloveforhistory.wordpress.com/2011/05/27/picture-of-the-week-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment